Christmas.

It’s that time of year again. You know, when decent folks turn into demons in search of the best presents and deals. Because everyone knows that what this holiday is all about. Sure it got started as something religious, and yeah, there are probably still people who treat it that way for a day or two, but let’s face it, all anyone cares about are the presents.

Personally I find the whole holiday to be nothing more than a waste of time. I don’t enjoy being stampeded by anxious shoppers, or packed like a sardine whenever I go grocery shopping, or being forced to listen to hours of dreadful Christmas music. None of that is worth the gifts I may or may not receive. Especially since I don’t usually want anything anyway. About the only thing I don’t mind are the lights. I’ve always enjoyed looking at all those sparkly decorations and colorful displays, it’s one of the few things I look forward to this time of year. That and the copious amounts of hot cocoa and candy canes.

However, despite my dislike of the holiday season, I’ll still end up getting my family gifts, and graciously accept those they choose to give me, if for no other reason than it’s easier to partake in the spirit of things than to constantly fight with those who do. Besides, just because I don’t like it doesn’t mean I should ruin it for others . . . unless of course that person just ran me over to get to the last toy/electronic/gift. Those people deserve what they get.

Later.

Leave a Reply

